Chicken and Bacon Pie

chicken and bacon pie.jpg
500 calories per serving    £5.39 (whole pie)     40 minutes
Pre-university I lived with my mum and step dad and my mum had an obsession with the Hairy Dieters cookbook. So when I went to university insisted upon my mum sending me my favourite Hairy Dieters recipe – Chicken and Bacon pie – I adapted the recipe a bit because I am a student and don’t have as much exotic food as you need but I managed to make it for my flatmates and it went down very well.
 
All you need is:
Chicken – cut into strips
Bacon – cut it small pieces
Bag of frozen mixed vegetables
1 white onion
Chicken stock (in 500ml of bioling water)
Light Philadelphia spread
Salt and Pepper
Filo pastry
Plain flour – if you have it it makes the sauce thicker
To make it:
In a large frying pan fry off the chicken then when it starts too cook add the bacon – cut up the bacon with scissors straight into the pan.
Chop up the onion into strips and fry that off in the same pot.
Put the vegetables in a saucepan and cook until not frozen.
Add the vegetables to the frying pan and cover with the stock cube and water.
Stir into the frying pan half a tub of Philadelphia and if you have flour sprinkle over the frying pan if not don’t worry too much.
Leave the sauce to thicken while you pre-heat the oven to 200 degrees or gas mark 7.
When it’s preheated pour the frying pan contents into a baking dish and then spray the filo with oil or brush with oil and scrunch up and place on top of the baking dish if the pastry sinks into the contents don’t worry too much.
Put the dish in the oven and leave to cook before dishing out.
One thought on “Chicken and Bacon Pie

Leave a Reply

