Lettuce leaf tacos

307 Calories (using less than 5% beef mince)     £2.10     10 minutes

A while ago I had some tacos at home, they were cooked in oil and smothered in sauces, it’s fair to say they weren’t my favourite dish. However, it did remind me how much I love tacos and it got me thinking could there be a way to combine my love of tacos with my desire to be healthy? Well I found it, lettuce leaf tacos. Serves 2

All you need is

Taco mix

Mince

Mexican mixed bean

Salsa

Lettuce

To make it just

In a saucepan cook the mince with no oil.

Top with taco seasoning and mix well.

Add the mixed beans and stir well ensuring the seasoning covers everything.

Using a large lettuce leaf fill it with the mince mix and enjoy!

The reviews are in

This dish really surprised me, given that it contained no carbohydrates I didn’t expect it to be a filling dinner but rather a good sized snack, however I was very wrong. After eating this I wasn’t hungry and when it got to the late evening I wasn’t looking for a snack.

Whilst I did find this dish appealing and tasty, others didn’t. I cooked this meal for myself and my partner and he found that it need carbohydrates i.e. an actual taco shell for him to feel fuller.

Overall, whilst I found this dish appealing, for some, it wasn’t quite enough. However, for those who didn’t find it filling they are a great lunch dish and for those who want a low calorie dinner a great evening dish.

Where to buy

ASDA Tesco Sainsbury’s
Taco mix £0.58 £0.89 £0.90
Mince (250g) £2.00 £2.50 £3.30 (500g)
Mexican bean salad £0.48 £0.65 £0.65
Salsa £0.79 £0.79 £0.70
Lettuce £0.35 £0.29 £0.50

 

One thought on “Lettuce leaf tacos

Leave a Reply

