What’s gone on this week? Eggs, abatoirs and aerobics

Having now finally got used to the 9-5 routine (which is slightly more 10-3, but still more time in University than I’m used to) I had to get back into the exercise routine. Being a strong lover of yoga I try to do at least half hour a day, but really, it’s not quite the same as going to an intense aerobics class. So, this week it was back to the classes and a strict at home workout plan.

What health news got my attention?

Saturday evening I was reading The Guardian App and saw the headline: ‘Fears of ‘dirty meat’ entering food chain after 25% of abattoirs fail tests’. Immediately I couldn’t help but scoff. My mother became vegetarian late last year because she didn’t agree with how meat was processed, I couldn’t help but argue this. But maybe I was wrong – yes, I can admit I’m wrong sometimes.

An analysis of government audits was carried out at over 300 abattoirs in England, Wales and Northern Ireland. They found that 25% of abattoirs had failed hygiene tests. That’s one in four slaughterhouses giving out contaminated meat.

However, there is a silver light, the Food Standards Agency (FSA) have said no visibly contaminated meat made it to the public, and those abattoirs who failed were ‘not tolerated’ and would see enforcement action.

Why is this all important? Well, the story has come out as the FSA announced they were considering relaxing audit regimes of some abattoirs to save money and reduce the burden on meat processors.

Where I went 

img_2767

This week was pretty boring, having no little visitors and lots of work to do, most of the week was spent walking back and forth from University or Lidl.

However, I did manage to go to my BBB (belly, bosoms and bust) class. It’s an aerobics class put on by the University of Antwerp, and thanks to buying a Sport Sticker for only 20 euros(!) I gained access to loads of sport classes.

Last term I managed to attend it every Monday but this week was my first time back since December. It’s fair to say, I was exhausted.

Thanks to the wonders of FitBit, managed to log that during the hour, I had an average of 125 BPM and burnt 340 calories with 67% fat burn. The moves are similar to what I would do at home, but in a much more intense way.

Ingredient of the week

Eggs! Such a simple thing yet so brilliant, they are full of flavour, versatile and well, just awesome.

Scrambled, poached, fried or baked, these little gems are great. They’re loaded with high-quality proteins, vitamins, minerals and good fats. Ideal if you are working out or need extra energy in your life.

This week I opted for scrambled eggs, adding them to crumpets and a stir fry, but there are so many more recipes which can be made with eggs, this weekend I’d strongly recommend trying eggs benedict.

ASDA: £1 for 6 | Tesco: £1.50 for 6 | Sainsbury’s: £1.25 for 6

Meal of the week

File_000 (3).jpeg

I woke up an hour early before University Monday and decided I would take advantage of it, so I put together a stew mixture and left it for just over 8 hours. It was worth it. Flaky beef chunks and flavourful gravy with tender vegetables. I had it with potatoes but you could have gone with fresh bread or just on its own. This should make three good portions.

Ingredients:

1 tbsp butter | 1 tbsp flour | 150ml red wine| 500ml beef stock | 250g stewing steak | 500g frozen vegetables | 250g spinach | 200g mushrooms | 1 tbsp ketchup | 1 white onion | 1 tin white haricot beans | pinch salt and pepper

Method:

You can either cook this in the oven on a very low heat (140°C/120°C Fan/Gas Mark 1), or leave a pot on the hob on a low heat or pop it in a slow cooker.

Melt the butter and mix in the flour then add the red wine and stir well, add all other ingredients, pop a lid on and leave to cook for at least 6 hours.

Leave a Reply

